Secondary Obsessions

In the weeks between my travels and the upcoming return to school, I’ve been spending a bunch of time playing with my camera, and photography in general.  It’s been a lot of fun, and felt open in a way that I hadn’t experienced in a while.

Back when I was working for a living, before the Adventures in MFA-land, I’d sort of had two hobbies: writing, and photography. The writing has been my first love, so I always felt a little guilty when doing photography, because I was stealing from what little time I already had for my writing.  Now that I’m in school again, and writing is more or less my job, I can treat photography as my creative outlet when the work of writing is done (or at least set aside for a while).

I feel really fortunate to be able to explore creativity in two different media during this period, and to feel like they complement one another rather than competing against one another.

2 comments

  1. Jenny · · Reply

    What makes that even better is the way an appreciation of the visual can and should enhance and inspire playwriting.

    1. Ideally yes. I’m just finding my way with static images though. The dynamics of the stage are a step beyond that.

Leave a Reply

