Editor’s block

A lot of pixels and ink have been spilled on the topic of writer’s block, but what about editor’s block? I don’t mean the editor as a professional, but rather the writer as editor and reviser. I’m currently at the state where I have a decent first draft and know I need to make changes, but every time I look at the text I get this feeling that I already know what’s on the page. Diving in again seems like a chore.

The obvious solution to this would be to put it in a drawer and wait until it felt fresh again and work on something else in the meantime. Unfortunately, I have a deadline. If I don’t finish the revision in two weeks I’ll miss out on an opportunity to submit to a theatre that’s looking for stuff similar to what I’ve been working on.

Somehow I need to refresh my eye for the material. If anyone has suggestions, I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

